School Partnerships

School Partnerships

What is it all about?

The South West College has a proud history of working with schools to develop an exciting and innovative vocational curriculum which is relevant to the opportunities available within the world of commerce and industry.

In 2006 the Department of Education launched an Education Order (The Entitlement Framework) which encouraged schools to provide a wider and extensive range or courses in all Post Primary Schools. A direct result of this was the establishment of Learning Communities throughout the Province. Colleges became an integral part of these Communities and they offered to provide a range of vocational subjects that schools could feed into. This extended curriculum offered to all schools helps schools meet the targets set out in the Entitlement Framework, but more importantly, equips young people for the ever changing demands of the modern workplace.

The South West College serves schools from four Area Learning Communities:

  • Derg Mourne Learning Community - Castlederg High, Strabane Academy and Holy Cross College.

  • Omagh Learning Community - Omagh High School, Dean Maguirc College, Sacred Heart College, Omagh Academy, Loreto Grammar, St. John’s College, Christian Brothers School , Drumragh Integrated College and Arvalee School.

  • Fermanagh Learning Community – Devenish College, St. Eugene’s College, St. Comhghall’s College, St. Aidan’s High School, Erne Integrated College, St. Mary’s College, St. Mary’s High School, Mount Lourdes Grammar School, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School, St. Michael’s College, Willowbridge School, St. Joseph’s College and St. Fanchea’s College.

  • Dungannon & Cookstown Learning Community – Fivemiletown Community College, Aughnacloy College, St. Ciaran’s College, Dungannon Royal School, Cookstown High School, Drumglass High School, Holy Trinity College, Dungannon Integrated College, Sperrinview Special School, St. Joseph’s College, St. Joseph’s Grammar, St Patrick’s Grammar and St. Patrick’s College.

The subjects offered are usually of a vocational nature and are delivered in environments that reflect the workplaces that many students will move onto on completion of their studies.

Schools working in partnership with South West College promote these Level 2 and Level 3 Courses which help enhance the experience of students while they work in workshops, restaurants, and media suites etc. which are fully equipped to modern industrial standards.

All of the colleges take in students from a full range of schools and colleges, so young people have the added opportunity to be taught in classes with students from all sections of the community.

What courses does the College offer?

Year 11 & 12 Students

Occupational Studies – Year 11 & 12

Occupational Studies Courses are vocational based and the courses do not have any theory exam.
BTEC Level 2 are also vocational in nature but do have an exam component.

Year 13 & 14 Students

Post 16 Collaborative Courses – Year 13 & 14

Post 16 courses are mostly BTEC Level 3 Courses which are equivalent to A levels. Some courses are delivered as standard AS and A levels.

For further information about any of the courses or how to get involved with the programme please contact:

Michelle O’Flaherty – Schools EF Coordinator, SWC Omagh Tel: 028 8225 0109 Extension 5414 or Email:
Dessie Gamble – Schools Liaison Officer, SWC Omagh Tel: 028 8225 0109 Extension 5421 or Email:
Carmel Durkin – Schools EF Coordinator, SWC Enniskillen Tel: 028 8225 0109 Extension 2329 or Email: