Types of Apprenticeships

An apprenticeship can give you the training and qualifications you need to help you get ahead in your chosen career. There are currently three levels to choose from. 

Apprenticeship qualifications

Apprenticeships are currently available at:

Level 2 is the first level and the one that most new apprentices choose.

You can either progress from Level 2 to Level 3 or go straight in at Level 3, depending on your ability and the qualifications you already have.

It usually takes up to two years to complete one level and up to four years to finish the two levels depending on their complexity and your ability.

Higher Level Apprenticeships offer qualifications from Level 4 to Level 8 and will take a minimum of two years to complete.

Choice of apprenticeships

The different types of apprenticeships available at each level and the standards and criteria you must meet to complete the apprenticeship programme and receive your apprenticeship certificate are set out in apprenticeship frameworks for Level 2 and Level 3.

Terms and conditions apply if you are 25 years and over.

SWC have a wide range of Level 2 and Level 3 apprenticeships and over 30 Higher Level Apprenticeships to choose from, including:

  • Computer Science
  • Energy, Environment and Sustainability
  • Mechanical / Mechatronic Engineering
  • Construction / Architectural Technology / Civil Engineering
  • Accountancy
  • Transport and Supply Chain Management

For some there are minimum entry requirements, such as GCSEs. Our HLA co-ordinator can advise you on this.

Contact Us

If you are unsure about which apprenticeship you want to follow, or just need more information on what the Apprenticeships programme can do for you, fill in our contact form and a member of our staff will get back to you.