Course Information

BCS Level 2 Certificate in IT User Skills (ECDL Extra) (ITQ)


Below are the sessions that are available for this course.


BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT offers the ECDL qualification at three different levels. The first of these, ECDL Essentials, is an excellent introduction to the world of technology.

Course Content

  • IT User Fundamentals - This unit builds the learner’s confidence by teaching basic interaction with computers, from start-up to productive use and basic computer housekeeping
  • Using Email and the Internet - This unit helps the learner understand how to use internet and email in a safe and secure way, explaining key terms and developing fundamental knowledge of computer security.
  • Security for IT Users - This unit provides the learner with an essential understanding of how to use a computer in a safe and secure manner, protecting their own data as well as that of other users.

    Progression Opportunities

    From this course, learners can progress to study for the ECDL Extra qualification which provides a solid grounding in a number of different software packages including Microsoft Word and Excel. Achievement of both ECDL Essentials and ECDL Extra automatically generates a full ECDL certificate.