SIMS 2018

2nd International Symposium on Small-scale Intelligent Manufacturing Systems

16 – 18 April 2018

FARNHAM ESTATE Spa & Golf Resort, Cavan, Ireland

First Announcement and Call for Papers

SIMS – International Symposium on Small-scale Intelligent Manufacturing Systems – is the leading international forum for academic and industrial experts to disseminate information on the most recent theories, practices and research results in the field of Small-scale Intelligent Manufacturing Systems.

Small-scale Intelligent Manufacturing System (SIMS) is an emerging concept and it is of paramount importance for improving and enhancing the competitiveness and sustainability of manufacturers, especially small and medium-sized ones, in order to survive in today’s rapid changing market. SIMS aims at incorporating state-of-the-art technologies with leading edge management methods for achieving continuous improvement on flexibility, reliability, productivity and sustainability of manufacturing system in order to provide customers with high customized products at reasonable price and rapid delivery.

SIMS Symposium aims at providing a common platform for academics, researchers and practitioners to interact and discuss the trends and advances in a broad extend of SIMS.

Symposium Topics

The main topics of SIMS 2018 include, but not limited to:
  • Robotics and Automation
  • Augmented Reality
  • Innovative Product Design and Optimization
  • Integration of CAD/CAPP/CAM/CIMS
  • Operations Management
  • Quality Control and Management
  • Sustainable Supply Chain Management
  • Industry 4.0
  •  Lean and Agile Manufacturing
  • Virtual and Grid Manufacturing
  • Flexible manufacturing system
  • Logistics and Life-cycle Management
  • Intelligent Decision Making
  • Big Data and Internet of Things
  • Intelligent Manufacturing
  • Human Factors
  • Production planning and control
  • Safety, Security and Risk Management

Submission of papers

Authors are invited to submit their papers presenting the results of original research or innovative practical applications relevant to the symposium. The papers should be 6 pages, in English according to the IEEE template, which can be downloaded from symposium website. Pages over 6 will be charged. Each presentation at the symposium will be given 20 minutes timeslot. Abstract of papers can be submitted through the conference paper management system. Each paper will be peer-reviewed by at least three experts and all accepted papers will be published in IEEE Xplore.

Registration and fees

In advance – IEEE Members: 450 €
In advance – Non-IEEE members: 500 €
In advance – reduced: 300 €
On-site – IEEE Member: 600 €
On-site – Non-IEEE members: 700 €
On-site – reduced: 475 €
Accompanying person: 150 €
Extra page: 70 €
Additional paper: 125 €

Regular registration fees include:

  • Admission to all sessions
  • Workshop kit
  • Refreshment in coffee breaks
  • Lunches and dinners
  • Social itinerary
Visas – If requested, our workshop secretariat will provide an invitation letter to the participants to present together with the visa request at the Irish embassy in Dublin so as to make the visa procedure simpler and faster.
Venue – The symposium will take place at Farnham Estate Golf & Spa Resort Cavan, Ireland.

Accommodation & Travel Information

Attendees are advised to stay in the Farnham Estate Hotel. Alternative budget accommodation will be provided for students/details available from the conference secretariat. International visitors will arrive at Dublin airport- further details on transport options to the symposium venue will be provided later.

Important Dates

First announcement - 01.07 2017
Paper submission deadline - 01.01 2018
Acceptance notification - 01.02 2018
Final camera ready paper submission - 15.03 2018
Advance registration deadline - 15.03.2018
Preliminary program - 01.04.2018
Registration at site - 16.04.2018

Honorary Chairs

Anthony Pipe, UK
Bjørn Solvang, Norway
Hideki Hashimoto, Japan

Track Chairs

Péter Szemes, Hungary
Åsa Ericson, Sweden
Kesheng Wang, Norway

Program Committee Chairs

Mihoko Niitsuma, Japan
Gabor Sziebig, Norway

General Chair

Péter Korondi, Hungary

General Co-Chairs

Wei Deng Solvang, Norway
Géza Husi, Hungary
Yasuharu Kunii, Japan

Publicity Chairs

Várkonyiné Kóczy Annamária, Hungary
Sousuke Nakamura, Japan

Industrial Chair

Trygve Thomessen, Norway

Program Committee

Krisztian Samu, Hungary
Knut Sørby, Norway
Johan Lugnet, Sweden
Takeshi Sasaki, Japan
Noriaki Ando, Japan
Primož Podržaj, Slovenia
Fetah Kolonic, Croatia
Ivan Petrovic, Croatia
Péter Tamás, Hungary
Petra Aradi, Hungary
Szilveszter Kovacs, Hungary
Rita Kiss, Hungary
Sakari Pieskä, Finland
Lasse Jansson, Finland
Radu-Emil Precup, Romania
Simo Jokanovic, Bosnia and Herczegovina

Local Organizing Committee

Vincent Reynolds, John Moore, Marcella Rudden

Workshop Secretariat

Cavan Innovation & Technology Centre